My Mint Green ‘Di’ Dreamer

Lomography Diana F+ Dreamer Camera

It is a funny old world.  I have just spent £50 on a plastic camera that was mostly given away as a novelty prize at fairs, carnivals and in raffles and product promotions in the early sixties.  Ah but there you have it, the magic word – the ‘sixties’.  Like many I’m a sucker for anything vintage, vintage-looking or vintage-inspired.

Mint green and retro this lovely little replica from Urban Outfitters will help me produce dreamlike, artistic, soft-focus, misty shots. A fantastic companion for summer days in the park.

Diana cameras first appeared in the early 1960s; plastic, novelty, cheap and consequently flawed.  Subject to light leaks on the exposed film, odd colour rendition and a crude lens and shutter mechanism the Diana was no hero in technology.  Art and photography schools however began to exploit these failings to produce interesting effects and American photographer Nancy Rexroth elevated the Diana camera to fame in an influential 1976 photographic exhibit and book entitled IOWA.

Nancy Rexroth – ‘My Mother Floating’, Albany, Ohio (date unknown)

Nancy Rexroth – ‘Mother’s Knees’, 1976

2 responses to “My Mint Green ‘Di’ Dreamer

  1. Pingback: El turquesa fa estiu | wondercoses

  2. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.

    I’m quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Best
    of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

